Premier-League-Final-Day Man City

Premier League Final Day of Season: Man City Keeps the Title

It’s determined — Manchester City is the official trophy keeper! It wasn’t easy, but they have written the name of the club in England’s football history. Click to find out more!

Manchester City Retains the Glory

After coming from behind and defeating Brighton 4:1, Manchester City overcame Liverpool’s efforts in one of the most extraordinary Premier League seasons in history. This meant that Man City managed to retain the title, making it their first back-to-back titles in history.

The final game against Brighton was a 14th win in a row for the Cityzens in this intensive, overwhelming, and nerve-wracking trophy race. City finished just one point above Liverpool, who are still waiting to win their first title in twenty-nine years. The two of them combined hold a record of 195 points won overall.

However, it wasn’t an easy ride for the Guardiola’s team. Man City appeared to be throwing away their chances at their fourth title in eight seasons.

In the other tie on the final day, Sadio Mane was the one to put Liverpool in front against Wolverhampton Wanderers by scoring a goal in the 17th minute. At the same time, Man City fell behind just ten minutes later, as they conceded an early goal.

Aguero’s instant response (he levelled the scores after just 38 seconds) was still not enough for City to take back the first spot. It was only after Mahrez’s corner in the 38th minute, when the center back Aymeric Laporte scored a header, that the Cityzens overtook Liverpool.

With the scoreline being 1:2, Man City took the game by the scruff of the neck, and the nerves were only further calmed when Mahrez made it 1:3. They remained in cruise control during the rest of the match, which handed them another title — sixth in their history.

Manchester City is now the first team to retain the trophy since Manchester United did the same in the 2007-08 season, which was one of Sir Alex Ferguson’s best teams in his long tenure at the club.

Guardiola Can’t Stop Winning

After winning the fourth title in eight seasons, City is now the team to beat. They are no longer only the greatest side in Manchester, but in entire England. Some believe that this might not have happened if Ferguson had still been active.

Guardiola has now won his eighth title in his 10 seasons as an active coach. He made a debut in 2009 with Barcelona (many regard 2009 Barcelona with Messi, Xavi, and Iniesta to be football’s greatest ever side). With such a record (he managed to overtake Jose Mourinho in the number of trophies), many consider Guardiola to be the world’s best manager. However, his failure to win the Champions League with Bayern Munich and Man City is what’s putting him down. The European crown is the next step in evolution for the Catalan manager.

On Saturday, Man City played in the FA Cup final, in which they steamrolled Watford with a dominant 6:0 win. With this win, they managed to accomplish the domestic treble (they won this season the Premier League, the FA Cup, and the Carabao Cup), making them the first side to achieve that accolade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *